Consider In-Game – Vanilla

Due to length reasons, this post will have to be split up into three sections, one for each expansion. I could fit it all in one, I’m sure, but spreading it out will keep it from degrading in quality as I would inevitably get lost on one side point or another.

Before WoW

Surprisingly to many of my friends, my gaming history outside of WoW is almost non-existent. Prior to this game I had never played a mmorpg, I wasn’t familiar with the term shooter, and I didn’t own any of the latest and greatest console systems. In fact, aside from Age of Empires II and Warcraft III – two games which I absolutely loved, and still consider amazing for their time – I didn’t game at all. I was much more likely to have my nose in a book or be out at the movies with others, two things which I still immensely enjoy but have all too often taken a backseat to raiding.

But then, one day in Feburary ’05 (about four months after the launch of the game), a friend was talking about WoW, and I decided to give it a go to humor him. Thus it all began.

Vanilla

Not having a clue what in the world I was doing, I picked a random server – Daggerspine – and rolled a random class- warlock – of a random race – human. Having just started the Sword of Truth series at the time, I decided to name my toon Kaylan after Kahlan, a protagonist of the novels. Considering my friend decided to stop playing about two days after I started, I was left to my lone self to figure things out… and suffice is to say I can’t even began to describe how utterly clueless I was of the game.

Somehow, after about four months of playtime, I managed to hit level 60, still as ignorant of basic game mechanics as I had been at the start. It’s at this point in time that I actually started taking an interest in the game as a greater whole; not just the limited portion I had seen through my experience of solo leveling. I saw the joys of negative resists and the misery of summoning or passing out healthstones one by one. I experienced raiding UBRS and grinding the old honor system. I came to genuinely enjoy the game – before then playing was simply something to kill time when I was bored, but it’s at this point which it really started to become more than just a diversion. It was also summer, and thus I had plenty of extra time on my hands…

Naturally it was at this point when I began looking for a guild.

Being the genius that I was, I first applied to the best guild on the server only to get rejected to my utter shock! Fortunately I was smart enough to take their criticism to heart; I geared myself up through what means I could, got myself attuned to the current instances (MC and Onyxia), and then applied – and was accepted to – Basic, a guild more “middle of the pack”, which I grew to love and which is still around today. It’s in this guild that I experienced all of MC and BWL, then up through Twins in AQ40 and the first six of Naxx40. I learned all the basics to raiding, and although I didn’t bother with theorycrafting or anything of the sort, I became a moderately competent player.

Most importantly though, I came to love raiding, never missing a single evening, and always looking to improve my own performance- two traits which haven’t left me, and which are central for anyone hoping to make it in a high-end guild.

As was the case for most people, I had an alt which I fooled around on occasion when bored – Nuari, a night elf druid. Throughout the times when I wasn’t busy playing my warlock, it slowly inched it’s way up in levels, and when patch 2.0 came and revamped the honor system, I decided to make the last push to 60 and start gearing her up. For those unfamiliar, with that patch one became able to purchase Grand Marshal gear (which was of similar quality to BWL loot) with relatively scant BG farming. Free epics, essentially, which was the idea; Burning Crusade was on the horizon, and with it a complete gear reset.

It was also at this time that I began to grow bored of my warlock. For basically all of Vanilla, warlocks’ rotations consisted of Corruption and Shadow Bolt spam, and even then, Corruption was often dropped. Dots were incredibly weak, and the strict debuff limit combined with the large raid sizes meant any dots put up were often pushed off anyways. Suffice is to say it was a very dull class, especially after having played it for over a year.

On top of this, with the expansion near, the guild happened to be looking at a shortage of healers.

With these three factors in mind, I stumbled upon a brilliant idea: why not switch mains come Burning Crusade? My druid’s gear was good enough for leveling purposes, and everything would get replaced at 70 anyways. My warlock was boring me, and my druid would give me plenty to learn and a whole new area of the game to explore (healing). My guild had enough dps but was growing to lack healers. It was the perfect solution. The GM agreed, and I was set.

Next time a description of my Burning Crusade escapades and how my oh so genius class-swap worked out, along with how I ended up where I did for Wrath of the Lich King.

Until then, good night.

4 Responses to Consider In-Game – Vanilla

  1. Sag says:

    WoW was my first MMO as well. Yay we got sucked in by our friends! Ones that no longer play! I was wondering if you have made it back to your warlock. I usually play demo on my warlock, but when I was playing both an Aff lock and an UH DK, I felt they were quite similar. Just wondering if you feel the same way or you had abandoned warlocking altogether.

    • Consider says:

      I no longer play my warlock regularly, unfortunately. Too many other things on my plate, and I use my druid as my “main alt”.

      I’m very much still a fan of the class, however, just silly to have a dps alt when you have a dps main!

      • Sag says:

        I feel the same way. I Tank, PvE DPS and PVP on my DK. I have an 80 resto druid I barely play and I have an 80 warlock. Guess who is left out in the cold? Yup the warlock.

        I am also leveling a prot pally, without LFG btw. Nothing more fun than rounding up about 6 mobs and trying to get more adds.

  2. Pact says:

    There seems to be common theme to the way most people start playing WoW. Theres usually a friend pressuring you to play. Lecturing on and on about how fun it is and how much of a blast we’l have. Only to find that in a few short months later that said friend has quit and you alone are left to travel the vast world of azeroth.

Leave a Reply

