Consider This – The First Month

It’s been exactly a month since I started this blog, and although I wasn’t quite sure how it would fare and whether anyone would take notice of it and bother to read, I must say I am incredibly pleased with the how things have turned out to date:

55,000 views, 340 comments, 32 posts, and 25 RSS subscribers.

Are those numbers good or bad for a fresh blog? I honestly have no clue whatsoever! But, if I were to have made a prediction when I wrote my first entry, I would have projected way lower, so as far as I’m concerned, things have succeeded admirably, and if it compares unfavorably relative to the start of other similar sites, then who cares.

I simply wanted to take the time to make this post, thanking all readers and commenters alike. I’m glad to know my ramblings are of interest to some people out there, and I’m sure this site will become even more fleshed out – in terms of posts, yes, but also other features and overall design – in the months to come, all because you all seem to enjoy it and take something of worth from it.

There is a decent probability that sometime in the next month or two I’ll switch to an actual private website, as opposed to this freely hosted one, largely because I hate the limitations imposed. I doubt the current amount of traffic necessarily justifies such a move and the related cost, but whatever – it would make me happy and improve site quality for what traffic there is, so what else matters! Assuming I do end up doing so, that would open the way for me to do so much that I currently can’t. It would also mean I would likely move my Unholy guide completely offsite from EJ, as I would be better able to organize/add/format/etc the information here then I would there. I’ld also likely expand to sharing my expertise in the area of Frost (although I would probably ignore Blood dps, due to its upcoming demisre). As I make up my mind on how to handle things, I’m sure I’ll share any upcoming transitions well before things are final. And, if at the end the day I simply stay here off wordpress.com, then I’ll make the most of it.

Any which way, as always, if anyone has any feedback on the current layout or any suggestion as to future additions, do let me know. I obviously can’t promise I’ll agree with and implement everything, but I can guarantee I’ll listen to it all and add as much as I can and as much as I feel fits the site.

In short; thank you.

38 Responses to Consider This – The First Month

  1. Yes, you’re doing very well.

    • Sam Jackson says:

      Ur the man Consider!
      yes, more frost info… methinks frost > unholy in cat

      • Minaka says:

        Your Frost comment probably makes consider a sad panda 😦 .

      • Consider says:

        Oh, I have nothing against Frost, and I’m sure I’ll spend plenty of time on it as the expansion comes closer (especially if it shapes up to be the dominant dps spec).

        As it is now, however, Unholy just has more to talk about (largely because it has more problems!) and, obviously, I’m a bit better versed in it in regards to live (although I’m quite knowledgeable of Frost as well, of course).

      • Minaka says:

        No, I meant his comment that Frost will be greater than Unholy in Cataclysm… since you play as Unholy.

  2. Wesser says:

    Great job! There are so few places to find good DK info, from one florida boy to another keep up the good work!

  3. Fahar says:

    Great Job Consider.

    The Blog was a great idea… I love it!

    Best place to discuss DK related subjects on the web.

    Keep up the good work.

  4. Communism says:

    Keep up the good work!

    I was considering making a tanking blog myself for Cataclysm, but I’ll wait to see if I get a beta invite. Or maybe a blog would increase my chances?

    • Consider says:

      I wish it would! Although it would obviously be quite sad/inconveniencing if I didn’t get an invite, life will go on. Maybe.

      • Roth says:

        Im sure at least ONE person reading your blog will get an invite and can forward info to you.

      • Consider says:

        Oh, of course. I’m sure between here, EJ, and the guild, I’ll have plenty of access to any information I need/desire, not to mention sites like Mmo-Champion will naturally have a lot of stuff detailed (although not the fine print type stuff, like ability coefficients and the like). All of that still doesn’t quite compare to being able to test stuff out on one’s own at any time, however.

        I’ll make do however I must, certainly, and won’t be too sad if things turn out unfavourably!

  5. Myrta says:

    There are 3 websites I refresh every morning when I wake up, mmo champ, guild website, and this blog. It used to be EJ but not anymore lol. Thanks for all the effort you have put into this blog and your posts in EJ.

  6. Matt says:

    By far the best place for DK news, i read it daily whilst i am away from game on deployment. Keep me entertained!! 🙂

  7. Ali says:

    Clearly my favourite site for dk related info!!! Please do continue writing. Your posts are an inspiration to me!

  8. Ghostwalker says:

    The best Death Knight website in my opinion, speaking for myself it is very much appreciated. Thank You 🙂

  9. PB says:

    Hi, you may remember me from some posts you might have red, but i’m here again to thank you for all the good work. Your insights reflect much of how the DK community feels like and this website is a very positive feedback for blizz to consider and work around.

    Keep it up and remember haters gonna hate; you are doing an awesome job.

  10. Branith says:

    Awesome blof Consider, and your a hero to UH Dk’s every where. MY only complaint is and im sure it will fix itself due to the shared loot structure of 10 and 25 cata raids; is when doing BiS items please when dealing with the lowest tier of the BoS dont include 10 man hardmodes, ive managed to waste quite a bit of EP getting an item only to find it not as good as in actual use. i.e. frost badge belt vs the belt off dreamwalker.

    • Shinarou says:

      Best in slot lists tend to create the idea that one piece of gear is amazing no matter what your current setup is, which isn’t always the case. It is absolutely necessary to make use of tools like the DK simulator when making upgrade decisions to find out what gear is best for you out of what’s attainable. So I wouldn’t say it’s Consider’s fault for the BiS list confusion, but the nature of BiS lists themselves.

  11. Skeld says:

    This blog is invaluable for DKs worldwide and and usually one of the first pages I check every day 🙂 I also enjoy reading your posts about other wow stuff not related to DKs since they’re really elaborate and well written. Looking forward to your planned updates!

    Keep it up!

  12. Sholvah says:

    I for one look forward to your post and check every day !!
    It’s nice to see you speak your mind and not be censored by the EJ mods. keep up the pro job
    Thank you for your time.

  13. Leviatharan says:

    Umm… Gratz on one month!
    Personally I like being able to understand the detailed theorycrafting here without having to go back through pages on EJ and look at the numbers posted there to get the smallest bit of information.
    It’s great in that everything is simple, in depth and uncensored while still feeling polite and formal, without even having to spend hours waiting for an email to activate an account!
    Keep up the good work!

    P.S. I’m sure I speak for everyone that in the unlikely case I’m asked by a GM where to look for some feedback about DKs, this would be the place I recommend. 😀

  14. Skullflower says:

    As an avid reader of your blog and EJ thread, I enjoy reading everything you have to say. If it weren’t for your posts on EJ, I’d probably be insecure with a lot of the choices I make with my Death Knight and for that, I thank you for staying on top with the latest number-crunchings and what not. Keep on bloggin! I look forward to your future plans and blog posts.

  15. Vargr says:

    Best source of dk information since EJ !
    I refresh your page multiples times a day and i haven’t read EJ since… Well since i’ve found your blog.

    Continue this great job for Cataclysm !

  16. Rebellion says:

    Great job indeed!
    This place became a regular visited bookmark in my browser, thanks to the resourceful cataclsm info, the more open minded discussion (compared to EJ that is) and the more friendly enviroment (again, compared to EJ). In general it is always nice to among people who share the same passion.

    I hope this place will stay once cataclysm hits and maybe we’ll see a bit more detailed discussion on certain topics, as soon as we know the actual numbers, of course. I further hope you will find interest (if you don’t already have it) in the other DK themes than unholy as well, because as far as I’m concerned I’m more thrilled about (2H) Frost than Unholy at the moment.

    Anyway, keep up the good work and people will come to look at it :).

    P.S. Out of curiosity: How are the images on the right side of the posts generated ? I noticed I have the same every time I leave a reply, are they bound to email adresses or the name ?

  17. DalamarD says:

    Thank you for creating this site Consider. I’ve Been following your EJ thread since its inception and it’s great to see you move on to your own blog. You are by far the best source of dps DK information out there, and I look forward to your continued updates through Cataclysm. Keep up the good work, and thanks again.

  18. Karesh says:

    This is great work, I don’t get into the theorycraft aspects of the game but I can’t help myself and keep coming back to have a bit of read on what’s being talked about or your latest comments about certain aspects of the Unholy Death Knight.
    Keep it up

  19. Qamra says:

    Thanks for creating this blog, Consider. I really like your style of writing and appreciate all the effort you have put into providing solid information with regard to the class.

    Don’t forget to continue your story on how you went through The Burning Crusade after your Classic adventures and moved onwards into Wrath though! It was a fun read.

    • Consider says:

      Oh, I can certainly do that sometime this week. I had completely forgotten about it – originally, I intended to do it the day after the Vanilla article, but then Cataclysm info leaked, and I’ve just forgotten about it since!

      My Burning Crusade time was probably the most influential, if you will, in terms of where I am today. Obviously it involves why I switched to a Death Knight, but also includes my shift to what I would consider my first “hardcore” guild, without which I quite likely wouldn’t have inevitably made it to DV or have decided to take on the EJ thread when that opportunity opened up! I’m quite introspective, both in game or out, so I find it quite fascinating! Doubt it’s near as interesting for others to read about, but still, if you’re interested, I’ld be happy to continue.

      • Qamra says:

        Hehe, I understand that when the Cata info leaked, it had to take precedent over your introduction and how you came to play a Death Knight. I’m quite happy you posted your thoughts on it, and continue to do so, as I’m looking forward to the expansion as well and all the changes that come with it (though ambivalent I am on some of them). I’m not much of a theorycrafter, but I like to stay up to date and it’s especially nice that I don’t have to plough through pages and pages with sim-results, answers I wasn’t looking for and what-not.

        I had guessed you had forgotten, and I’m still interested. It would have fit a bit better straight after your Classic story, but important changes must always come first!

  20. Jonneh says:

    Nice to have somewhere to speak my mind about DKs without having to worry about infraction points!

  21. bountyhound says:

    your making a great blog imo. This site has being the first book mark I check daily and sometimes even twice a day. I wish you could move all the ej stuff to this blog and just keep updating it here. Anyways I’m just speaking out of mind. thx for the hardwork.

    • Consider says:

      There’s a strong possibility I’ll be doing something along those lines for Cataclysm, but I still have some kinks to work out and some things to decide. We’ll see as things get closer, but I would certainly like to do something along those lines.

  22. Gravity says:

    Bear in mind, Consider, that you are totally leveraging two factors for traffic (a) a subtle link from your superb Unholy thread on EJ, which is one of the top sites in the world for WoW. That link alone would generate inordinate amounts of traffic when compared to any other new anonymous blogger (b) alpha content, which you present, and is in great demand. Consequently, the stats you’ve got are unusually high for a new blog.

    That said, the source of traffic does not diminish that you have the genuine expertise to talk about DK DPS, and are widely regarded as a smart cookie.

    My blogging went through a similar transition, from free wordpress blog, to self-hosted (which is technically quite fun too), and then this year to a dedicated server with forums and Mumble voice comms as a sponsor benefit, in response to a similar gap in the community for DK Tanks. (All not-for-profit).

    The offer’s still open to hang out at pwnwear and to centralise DK knowledge a little more than it would be otherwise, but regardless of what you decide I know you’ll enjoy the journey of blogging. It’s nice to contribute knowledge and theory to a community.

    • Consider says:

      Oh, I’m by no means ignoring nor attempting to downplay those two factors. I’m well aware of both, and I’ll be the first to admit that all of the Cataclysm information gave the site a large and unforeseeable burst. What matters most to me isn’t how much traffic Alpha information generates, but how much of that traffic I ultimately retain. Unfortunately, there’s no real way of knowing that, though, at least not yet!

      Thus, it will be interesting (to me, anyways) to see how this next month turns out. There likely won’t be any huge leaks such as the initial talent one, and odds are that either the NDA will be eliminated or that the trees will otherwise be officially released. If people are coming here solely for Alpha information, then that will be no longer necessary, as much of the same information will then be available elsewhere. If, however, people are coming here initially for the Alpha information, but then also partaking in other analysis and discussion, then they’ll still have reason to visit. Who knows, who knows.

      The free wordpress site is great for its price, but it would be incredibly nice to have all the annoying limitations done away with and the additional features present which come with self-hosting while still using the wordpress software.

  23. Kumduh says:

    From myself and many of the other DKs at the MMO-Champ forums, keep up the great work!

  24. Mysiana says:

    I really appreciate all of the work you have done for us DKs out there. I used to read EJ religiously until finding your blog (I still venture back there occasionally but it has become, for the most part, fairly stagnant). I was one of those readers that was afraid to post for fear that I would get banned right off the bat for something I said out of ignorance. It’s nice to know that we now have a place where we can speculate and bounce ideas without having to look over our shoulders for the Inquisition. Please keep up the good work, you’re doing fabulous!

Leave a Reply

