36+ Hours – No Luck w/ Beta

Title speaks for itself, but I think it’s safe to say at this point in time that, no, I apparently did not make it into beta, at least not with this round of invites.

Quite unfortunate, and (to an extent) makes me lament the idea of random invites. It’s not that I begrudge those who were lucky enough to get in, by all means congratulations, but – without sounding too vain – I *know* I could have provided so much more and such higher quality feedback on DKs (and other aspects of the expansion) than the vast majority of people, and I think my work here and on EJ show that as well as anything can. What more could I do to show my willingness to test things out, contribute to the community and generally just try and make this a better game with better players, not that any of it at all has been done aimed at getting an invite? Are those not some of the most desirable qualities for a tester?

I’m not trying to come off as “your loss, Blizzard!”, as it’s just as much mine, but although getting a good-mix of people in is commendable (and obviously necessary for certain aspects of testing, particularly game performance), it still seems to me that there needs to be more than just randomly picking from people who submit their system reqs or those who are friends with a Blizzard employee.

But, what can you do. Perhaps the next wave.

At any rate, I’ll certainly be discussing Cataclysm topics as much as I otherwise would. Not being in beta doesn’t affect my ability to analyze numbers/mechanics and provide feedback; it simply means my analysis might be slightly delayed (as I can’t test some stuff first-hand on my own time) and that my analysis and feedback may never actually reach Blizzard’s ears (as I can’t post on the beta forums or submit feedback in-game). A shame, but life does gone on.

I just figured I would give everyone a heads up, in the interest of full disclosure.

Kinda sad, but nothing to do but soldier on and hope for better luck next time! Sulking doesn’t do any good ^^.

15 Responses to 36+ Hours – No Luck w/ Beta

  1. Alex says:

    Hey there, I have a key, so If you want some info from inside then just mail me and I’ll dig out what I can!

    Alex

  2. Ghostwalker says:

    The one person that should get an invite and blizzard doesnt invite you. I really hope that you still get in to provide the solid analysis that the Death Knights deserve. Im sure that there are those that will and do provide that analysis, it would just be nice to have somebody with a forum that could provide some more details through the process as well as take feed back from your loyal readers :).

  3. Abd says:

    aww Consider… If I get a beta key will give it to you. 🙂

    • Rebellion says:

      I don’t think that works, I’m sure they said that your account will be flagged with a beta key, you don’t get a key itself. Quite the good move, given how many dumbasses sold their keys for rediculous amounts of cash last time.

  4. disargeria says:

    Yeah, I know a lot of important players that haven’t received keys. I figured you’d be a no-brainer.

    And then I look at the beta boards and see a couple of idiots in there. >.>

  5. Ali says:

    You will definitely provide thoughtful, logical and well-analyzed feedback to blizz, especially for the DK class. But don’t forget that the game caters to the casuals. The majority of guilds are not even skillful enough to kill LK in normal 10 man. What Blizz needs is a mix of opinions, including those from the typical wow Noob, as well as opinions from high class raiders like yourself.

  6. Rebellion says:

    Well but to be honest, do you think a “typical” WoW newbie will take its time to comment on every quest via the testing tool ? Will he/she provide detailed feedback in forums other than questions like “where did x go?” and get blue answers like “look, x is now exactly 1cm left of were it used to be” ? The only thing the “typical newbie” does is maybe copy and paste an error, becaused they are pissed for not beeing able to play for lets say technical issue, which can often be solved by just thinking in the first place.

  7. Theldonn says:

    I’m sure Deus Vox must have gotten a pile of keys.

  8. Ekou says:

    I’m surprised you didn’t get one but here’s to hoping. ^^

    in the meantime, anyone have any comments on the SS change? Like how it only costs one unholy rune now?

  9. T says:

    Consider I would Kill to raid even just once with you to get some feed back on my style and ability My DK is the ONLY 80 I play and without your insights i would be no better than noobage but unfortunately i still suck fiercely you are my DK hero and if your ever on Deathwing please mssg me.

    your fan,
    Tiandrea, 80 Orc Death Knight, Deathwing

  10. Kahorie says:

    I agree on the fact that Blizzard is not very smart on who the give key or not. I had by chance access to Friend and Family beta, but it’s absolutely not cause of my contribution on the DK sim. It’s only due to the fact that I know in RL someone working in Blizzard.

  11. Hinenuitepo says:

    Since you *did* get an invite, I’m assuming either 1) someone gave you theirs or 2) Blizz’ invites aren’t completely random.
    I’d be interested in which it is, since of course like many others I’d love to get my hands on it. 🙂

    • Consider says:

      The first is impossible with how invites work these days – your account has to be flagged directly; either via Blizzards random invites or via Blizzard singling out your account for whatever reason. There aren’t physical keys (except for some rare cases, maybe?).

      • Hinenuitepo says:

        Roger that – and many thanks to your patron then eh? 🙂

        I know it’s still possible to get singled out for an invite – witness BigRedKitty’s return from Wow retirement – but yeah the rest of us have to hope for a random lottery ticket or a ‘friend’ to help us out. I was lucky in the LK beta to have a friend give me full access to his account for the duration but I hope to get one of my own this time around.

        Enjoy your time there – and I have to agree with you that you’ll give better feedback than most – and keep letting us know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

